Next meetings

04 Dec, CERN

29 Jan, CERN

Joint EPS-ECFA meeting
25 July 2015   


Europhysics News (EPN)
Europhysics Letters (EPL)
virtual phonebook
Physnet (EPS)
PhysicsWeb (IOP)

The High Energy and Particle Physics Prizes

2013 The ATLAS and CMS collaborations
For the discovery of a Higgs boson, as predicted by the Brout-Englert-Higgs mechanism, and
Michel Della Negra, Peter Jenni, and Tejinder Virdee
For their pioneering and outstanding leadership rôles in the making of the ATLAS and CMS experiments.
2011 Sheldon Lee Glashow, John Iliopoulos and Luciano Maiani
For their crucial contribution to the theory of flavour, presently embedded in the Standard Theory of strong and electroweak interactions.
2009 The Gargamelle Collaboration
For the observation of the weak neutral current interaction.
2007 Makoto Kobayashi, Toshihide Maskawa
For the proposal of a successful mechanism for CP violation in the Standard Model, predicting the existence of a third family of quarks.
2005 Heinrich Wahl and the NA31 Collaboration
For his outstanding leadership of challenging experiments on CP Violation, and to the NA 31 Collaboration, which showed for the first time Direct CP Violation in the decays of neutral K mesons.
2003 David J. Gross, H. David Politzer, Frank Wilczek
For their fundamental contributions to Quantum chromodynamics, the theory of strong interactions. By demonstrating that the theory is asymptotically free, that the couplings become weak at large momentum transfers, they paved the way for showing that the theory is correct.
2001 Don Perkins
For his outstanding contributions to Neutrino Physics and for implementing the use of Neutrinos as a tool to elucidate the Quark Structure on the Nucleon.
1999 Gerardus 't Hooft
For pioneering contributions to the renormalization of non-abelian gauge theories including the non-perturbative aspects of these theories.
1997 Robert Brout, Francois Englert, Peter W. Higgs
For formulating for the first time a self-consistent theory of charged massive vector bosons which became the foundation of the electroweak theory of elementary particles.
1995 Paul Soding, Bjorn H. Wiik, Gunter Wolf, Sau Lan Wu
For the first evidence for three-jet events in e+e- collisions at PETRA.
1993 Martinus J.G. Veltman
For the role of massive Yang-Mills theories for weak interactions.
1991 Nicola Cabibbo
For the theory of weak interactions leading to the concept of quark mixing.
1989 Georges Charpak
For the development of detectors: multiwire proportional chambers, drift chambers and several other gaseous detectors, and their applications in other fields.