Next meetings

04 Dec, CERN

29 Jan, CERN

Joint EPS-ECFA meeting
25 July 2015   


Europhysics News (EPN)
Europhysics Letters (EPL)
virtual phonebook
Physnet (EPS)
PhysicsWeb (IOP)

The Outreach Prizes

2013 Don Lincoln
For communicating in multiple media the excitement of High Energy Physics to high-school students and teachers, and the public at large.
2011 Christine Kourkoumelis, Sofoklis Sotiriou
For building educational resources to bring the research process in particle physics and its results to teachers and students, both nationally and across Europe.
2009 Herbert Dreiner, Michael Kortmann
For the idea and realization of a physics show performed by university students and especially for the realization and sustainment of a particle physics show within this framework.
2007 Richard Jacobsson, Charles Timmermans
For their outstanding contributions in promoting HEP to the public and in High Schools in Europe.
2005 Dave Barney, Peter Kalmus
Dave Barney, for promoting the fascination of particle physics to the public, in parallel to his research work in the CMS collaboration at CERN. His impressive and successful efforts are concentrated around the CMS experiment, but also reaching far beyond his own experiment. Peter Kalmus, for his long-standing and major personal involvement in particle physics outreach. In the last years, he has given talks for schools and the public to a total audience of some 24,000 in countries from the UK, Ireland and France to South Africa, Singapore and India.
2004 Alessandro Pascolini
For his contribution to public awareness of High Energy Particle, Astroparticle and Nuclear Physics in Italy and Europe.
2003 Rolf Landua
For his outreach activities at CERN (CERN Courier, Physics on Stage, Life in the Universe, High School Teachers programme)
2003 Nick Tracas
For his outreach activities in Greece, promoting the public image of physics in Greece through programmes for high school teachers, activities for Physics on Stage and Life in the Universe.
2002 Michael Kobel
For his work in bringing high energy particle physics into schools in Germany. In particular he has worked directly with educators to introduce particle physics into the curriculum, both through the creation of new materials and the imaginative use of concepts developed in other European countries. He has also been instrumental in promoting activities such as masterclasses.
2001 Christine Sutton, Erik Johansson
For their innovative use of electronic and printed media to bring HEP to wider public, including professional colleagues, students and school, and in particular their collaboration developing computer interactive packages for educational master classes.

The Gribov Medal Prizes

2013 Zohar Komargodski
For his deep insights into the structure of the renormalization group in four-dimensional field theories and, in particular, his proof (with Adam Schwimmer) of the a-theorem.
2011 Davide Gaiotto
For the uncovering of new facets of the dynamics of four-dimensional supersymmetric gauge theories. In particular, for discovering a large class of four-dimensional superconformal theories and for finding with others important intricate relations between two-dimensional theories of gravity and fourdimensional gauge theories.
2009 Freddy Cachazo
For his research with others that led to significant simplifications in the calculation of scattering amplitudes in both gauge theories and gravity ones.
2007 Niklas Beisert
For his contributions to the exploration of integrability properties of a four dimensional quantum field theory, N=4 supersymmetric Yang Mills theory.
2005 Matias Zaldarriaga
For his important theoretical contributions to Cosmology, with impact also on the theories of fundamental interactions. Among others for: a) developing an efficient method for calculating the observed CMB fluctuations in a given cosmological model. This has greatly facilitated imposing constraints on cosmological models and is widely used. b) Realizing the importance of polarization in the CMB and the possibility to measure it. c) Pointing out the importance of the effect of gravitational lensing by local matter on the CMB background.
2003 Nima Arkani-Hamed
For his original approaches to hierarchy problems in the theories of fundamental interactions. In particular for exploring the possibility of large extra dimensions where only gravity can propagate.
2001 Steven Gubser
For his outstanding work that has revealed a deep connection between gauge theories and gravitational interactions in the framework of string theories. This made it possible to compute and understand interesting properties of a gauge theory in 3+1 dimensions from a gravitational theory in 4+1 dimensions.

The Young Physicist / Young Experimental Physicist (since 2013) Prizes

2013 Diego Martinez Santos
For his outstanding contributions to the trigger and commissioning of the LHCb experiment, and the analyses leading to first evidence for the rare decay B0s->mu+mu-.
2011 Paolo Creminelli, Andrea Rizzi
To Paolo Creminelli for his contributions to the development of a solid fieldtheoretical approach to early-universe cosmology and for his studies of nongaussianities in the cosmic microwave background. To Andrea Rizzi for his contributions to the reconstruction software and physics program of the CMS experiment at the LHC.
2009 Maurizio Pierini, Niki Saoulidou
To M. Pierini for his contributions to the study and analysis of B mesons. To N. Saoulidou for her contribution to neutrino physics.
2007 Ivan Furic, Guillelmo Gomez-Ceballos
          and Stephanie Menzemer
For outstanding contributions displaying individual creativity and collaborative effort to the complex analysis which provided the first measurement of the frequency of Bs oscillations.
2005 Mathieu de Naurois
For his new ideas and decisive contributions in the CELESTE and HESS experiments. His new original method to analyze Cherenkov images of atmospheric showers enabled many new results in HESS and the detection of new sources near the galactic center.
2003 Guillaume Unal
For his contribution to the analysis of the NA48 data, whereby direct CP violation in K decays was established. He has been involved in most aspects of the experiment and has been a driving force in the physics analysis.
2001 Arnulf Quadt
For his outstanding contribution to the measurement of the F2 Structure Function in Deep Inelastic Scattering and extending its measurement to low values of momentum transfer and fractional momentum x.